About Us » History

Tumkur Grain Merchants Co-operative Bank Limited is a leading Urban Co-operative Bank in the country, functioning with its Head Quarters at TUMKUR, The Bank is promoted by the Grain Merchants of Tumkur city and was established on 13.12.1963.

Between 1950’s & 60’s Tumkur city has been developed as a major Business center of Karnataka State. In that period, the city has attracted so many Industries and Merchants class. In this substantial growth period the merchants of the city were facing the lack of proper Banking facilities and services, as in those days, a few nationalised Banks were functioning in the city and that too having lot of imbalances in their service to customers. By observing this pathetic condition, the leading merchants of Tumkur Sri AKA Parshwanath, Sri N R Jagadeesh, Sri T N Kempahonnaiah, Sri Gubbi Huchhappa and others discussed and decided to open an Urban Co-operative Bank in the city.

In the following years, the Bank has marked its substantial growth in the Co-operative Banking Sector along with its objectives. Since its inception, the Bank has been recording substantial growth each and every year. The Bank is also performing its social obligations. In the year 1987 the Bank has got its Licence from Reserve Bank of India, Mumbai.

Branch Expansion

In the year 1992, the Bank marked its growth and stability by opening its First Branch at SS Puram, Tumkur and succeeded in its expansion programme. In the same scale of expansion, the Bank has opened its 2nd branch at Raghavendra Nagar, Tumkur and 3rd branch at Sadashiva Nagar, Tumkur in the year 1994 & 1995 respectively. After the succession of Branch expansion programme in Tumkur City, Bank has decided to expand its operation beyond Tumkur City. As a result, 4th branch at Tiptur and 5th branch at Sira were opened in the year 1995 and 1997 respectively. Following in 1998, APMC Yard Branch has been opened at APMC Yard, Tumkur in its own Building, which was built with a beautiful structure. This branch has opened mainly for the purpose of fulfilling the Banking facility requirements to the Merchants and the public visiting the APMC Yard.

In the year 1998, the Bank has expanded its area of operation to Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Mysore and Chamarajanagar Districts by modifying its Byelaws. As a result, the Bank got permission from the Reserve Bank of India to open 3 branches at Bangalore city and one Branch at Mysore city. With that, the Bank has opened its 8th Branch at Rajaji Nagar, Bangalore on 15.07.1999 and 9th Branch at Mysore on 25.11.1999. On 12.02.2001, Bank opened its 10th and 11th Branches at Basaveshwaranagar and Jayanagar, respectively at Bangalore city, on 20th August 2004 opened its 12th Branch at Indiranagar, 13th Branch at RT Nagar Bangalore has opened on 8th Nov 2009 Bank, 14th Branch at Chitradurga on 3rd Dec 2010 and 15th branch at Kuvempu Nagar, Mysore 0n 27th Nov 2011, 16th branch at Hassan 0n 27th Jan 2012, 17th branch at HSR Layout on 27th Feb 2012, 18th branch at Marathahalli on 25th Mar 2012 and in the Financial Year 2013-14 Bank has opened its 19th & 20th Branches at J P Nagar & Yelahanka in Bengaluru on 23rd Oct 2013 & 29th Nov 2013 respectively. Branches have added feathers to its network.

Areas of Operation

The areas of operation are confined to

          1. Tumkur District
          2. Bangalore Urban and Rural District
          3. Mysore District
          4. Chamarajanagara
          5. Ramanagara
          6. Chikkaballapura
          7. Kolar
          8. Hassan
          9. Mandya
          10. Chitradurga.

» Savings Deposit
» Current Deposit
» Fixed Deposit
» Mangala Cash Certificate
» Cumulative Term Deposit
» Golden Jubilee Deposits
TGMC Bank is Awarded as “Best Managed Urban Co-operative Bank in the State” and  Best Urban Co-operative Bank
Read More
» Downloads
» Interest Rates
» Branch Locator
» EMI Calculator
» Bank Profile
Disclaimer | Feedback | Sitemap
© Copyright 2010 TGMC Bank Ltd. Powered by Centaurus Technologies Pvt Ltd